Cards

—If I ever doubted speaking up before, there’s no way I could now—

That’s what I left out in my last post: that there is a point of no return, and I think everybody should go past it. If there is passion in your heart, follow that passion until you’ve got nothing left. Maybe that sounds unhealthy, but it’s healthier to give something all you’ve got than it is to give it nothing at all. 

An easy life has become the ultimate dream, the goal of almost every single person surrounding me. I walk through the campus of my college hearing people share how they’re not here because they’re passionate about learning, they’re here because they want to make their lives easier. But that’s not the way it should be.

You’re worth SO much more than half-assed effort. Your passions are worth everything you are, everything you can give. You owe it to yourself to follow your heart, and I feel like so many people around me have missed that point.

Life isn’t about the cards you’re handed, it’s about the cards you play. It’s about those cards that you put out onto the table, those times where you say “I. am. all. in.”

And I beg you… BEG you to put your cards on the table. The cards that are a little scary. The ones that make your heart flutter, but also make you sweat. The cards that are both pleasure and pain. Because those are the golden cards. Those are the ones you want to play. Those are the cards every single one of us have, but too many of us are too afraid to actual put down.

Don’t settle for the life you think is easiest, because you’ll find out one day that it really wasn’t.

It KILLS me that people are so scared to follow their dreams… it kills me because I am one of those people. I know that I want this life of adventure, of love, and of words, but there are no guarantees in that life… no guarantee except that I believe with every fiber of my being that it will make me happy.

So at some point in the past 5 months, I think I’ve decided that that is how I want to live my life. I don’t need a plan anymore, because plans don’t always make it through. I just want to follow my heart, my gut, my brain, and see where I end up. And honestly guys, I think I’ll end up happier than I would if I wrote out a plan for my life and tried to follow it step by step.

I can be a writer. I can go to law school. I can go and get a million little tattoos etched into my body if that’s what my heart wants (don’t worry mom and dad, it’s not). But the point is, I can do anything. I’m trying to no longer constrain myself with rules and boxes and things I have to do. I’m just trying to live. I’m trying to love. I’m trying to walk this Earth with both heavy and light feet. I’m trying to find God in every place I can, because He has given me this beautiful life for me to seek Him in.

I am down on my knees right now begging you all to give up your plans. Throw what you think will happen into the wind, and sit down and begin to enjoy what is happening. Play your cards, play your entire hand if you want. Live this life you’ve been given, and live it the way you want to. Don’t let anyone tell you that you’re not good enough, that you’re not doing enough, that you’re wrong for following what you believe in. Those people are toxic, and honestly there is not enough time for toxic people.

There is always going to be someone out there who will encourage you, who will believe in your dreams, who will sit on the phone with you for hours trying to sort out the messy things: life, love, what your heart wants and what it needs. Find those people, and keep them close. Encourage them the way they encourage you. And if you begin to doubt that those people exist, please don’t. Reach out to me, let me be that person. Let me love you and encourage you and tell you that you and your heart are worthy of an extraordinary life.

You’ve got this guys. Even when it feels like you’re completely lost, I promise that you. have. got. this.

Hoping that you play all of your cards,

ES

One thought on “Cards

  1. “I can be a writer. I can go to law school.”

    Those two short sentences really rattled my bones. I think the hardest part of living inside a head so full of wild dreams is that they never seem to interrelate. We conjure up these dreams that have nothing to do with each other and then we beat ourselves up over having to choose. We ask ourselves how the hell we can be creative and write, all while wanting to be factual, to study the law, and to one day be a lawyer. And then we make the decision to choose one over the other. But I think you’re right. Why can’t you do it all? Why can’t every single one of your dreams come to fruition? There’s nothing stopping you. If you want to be a writer, you will be a writer. If you want to be a lawyer, you will be a lawyer. This is something I’ve juggled for years when I chose a major in college. And now, only 6 months shy of receiving my Master’s degree in Mental Health Counseling, I have no regrets. I wish more people out there would look at their goals the same way you and I seem to and just go for them. At the end of the day, all we have is what we’ve worked for.

    Thank you for writing this.
    xx Jackie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

